MAY 20TH: What You Stole From Me!

Posted: May 20, 2015 in Poetry, Thoughts of a Broken Vessel
Tags: , , , , , , ,

May 20th: What You Stole From Me!

One day is like a thousand years to the Lord
So much can happen within a day
24hrs is all it takes for your life to be turned upside down
24hrs is all God needs to teach you a lifetime lesson
Saturday May 20th 1995


A day that will forever be etched on my mind
The day I lost one of my bestfriends
Lost him to the cruel hands of death
What started as a regular day for a nine year old
Became the turning point of my life
Defining the rest of my days

May 20th what you stole from me
Only God knows why it had to be so
Sometimes we cry, question & murmur
But I guess for as long as we are on this side of eternity we will never understand some things
Then again it is not for us to understand

Because the mysteries of life are all sewn by the Almighty’s hand
And it’s in the mysteries that we do get to find ourself
Find ourselves because sometimes we look at the wrong places
Anchoring our hopes in things passing forgetting there is that which lasts
Carve up pretty idols in our hearts because it is easier to trust the seen

May 20th I thought you stole from me
But through you God has opened up a whole new world to me
A world that understands what it means for God to be a Father to the fatherless
A world where the reality of child-like faith comes to existence
This world where I have come to understand that all things work for my good
That in a man’s heart are many plans but God has the final word
So yes, May 20th you stole from me

Stole the temporary and gave me the eternal
Now I’m no longer bitter or angry
I no longer go round looking for that father-figure
Because the Father figured out a way to reveal Himself to me
Because in Him I have found myself
Found a man who is faithful to the end
Wiping away my tears and renewing my strength
Assuring me that He will never leave me nor forsake me

Earthly fathers come and go
But He who sits on the throne
Will forever remain
So May 20th I say thank you for the first time
Because those 24hrs worked in me an everlasting good.

2 Corinthians 1:3-4

Romans 8:28

Leave a Reply

