#NEWPOST: 30 Pieces of Silver

Posted: January 25, 2014 in Poetry
Tags: , , , ,

Image

*Ching! Ching! *

30 pieces of silver fell in his hands

For 30 pieces of silver Judas sold his soul

How his name has been tarnished because of that

How I have condemned him because of that

But I’m I really any different?

How many times have I betrayed my Saviour with a kiss?

How many times have I chosen to look the other way and grieve Him?

How many times have I sold my soul for temporary pleasures;

For money that has no worth?

How many times have I brought shame to His Name because of my actions?

How many times have I acted a saint when I’ve been filthy all along?

For 30 pieces of silver

For earthly things which moth can eat

For wealth that has no lasting value

For simple pleasures that bring me nothing but shame

*Ching! Ching*

I am no different than Judas

But unlike him I have room to repent

Unlike Him, I can still be restored

Because I’m alive, His grace is sufficient

Help me not to take advantage of your grace

To fix my eyes on the things that are above

And not the 30 pieces of silver

That ever entice me.

Leave a Reply

