The Song of Job

Posted: February 20, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

Amazing how one after the other, the messengers flooded Job’s house, each carrying his dose of bad report. I am sure all that time Job was thinking, at least my family’s fine, I can always recoup the loss but I can’t bear to loose my children. Then when he thinks it’s all over, another one walks in, ‘your sons & daughters…..’ I’m sure his thoughts probably trailed off as soon as he heard his children mentioned. He was probably thinking, ‘not my children, not my children.’

Then he comes back to & the servant finishes the message. Right now, he’s probably weak in his knees, the property loss means nothing, he’s maybe trying to reach out to something to lean on, his strength has failed him. The servants are probably thinking this guy will die of grief. Then Job arises, & contrary to what is humanly possible, he falls on the ground and worships. He worships. He doesn’t complain, he doesn’t curse, doesn’t question sovereignty but rather he worships. In the moment of turmoil, when all the natural man knows is to ask ‘why’ Job worships. Not because he was perfect, or any better but because he knew his God and by the grace of that same God he was able to lift up a song of worship.

‘Naked I came from my mother’s womb, & naked shall I return. The Lord gave, & the Lord has taken away, blessed be the name of the Lord.’

What song comes out of your lips when terror strikes? What does it say about you, about your God?

Grace & Peace

Leave a Reply

