GOD WILLING

Posted: February 1, 2013 in broken_pieces
Tags: , , , ,

Grace to you,

‘God willing,’ a very common phrase. One that we say almost subconsciously without giving it much thought. Many a time I have used the phrase in vain. Saying it but not really understanding it. I remember there was a time when someone would say, ‘God willing’ I knew immediately they wouldn’t live up to my expectations. To me, it was just an escape route or a polite way of saying ‘No’. Until I understood its gravity.

So now, you will find me saying God willing because now I know unless the Lord wills it, I labour in vain. I know the Lord is sovereign enough to thwart my plans and direct my hands in a different direction. Now I know it’s by grace that I live to see the next minute. For my times are in his hands. Therefore, I commit all my plans to God knowing that if he wills them, they will succeed, with his definition of success of course. God willing is no longer a phrase but a way of life. Every time I say ‘God Willing’ I’m declaring ‘He is Lord.’

Therefore, James 4:13-17;

Come now, you who say, ‘Today or tomorrow we will go into such & such a town & spend a year there & trade & make a profit” yet you don’t know what tomorrow will bring. What is your life? For you are a mist that appears for a little time & then vanishes. Instead you ought to say, “If the Lord wills, we will live & do this or that.” As it is, you boast in your arrogance. All such boasting is evil. So whoever knows the right thing to do & fails to do it, for him it is sin.

Grace & Peace

Comments
  1. wairimu carole says:

    awesome

Leave a Reply

