LOVE IN THE HOOD ~ ^ ~

Posted: May 11, 2012 in broken_pieces

Psalms 115:1 – Not to us, not to us but to Your Name be the glory.

Grace to you,

This article was inspired by my neighbour’s son, two Sundays ago. I was preparing for church then happened to throw a glance outside the window and I saw him. I saw him and his mother walking down to their house and I could tell that they were from hospital. He even had something wrapped around his face for concealing purposes. This boy has been sickly from birth and my heart usually goes out to him. Every time I see him, during his sick days, I usually have to hold back tears and mumble words to God. Words like, “God please just have mercy on this boy and heal him, or at least give him the grace to go through this if it’s your will that the sickness remains for your glory.” The boy is not saved and I have never shared the gospel to him, I always wonder how to go about it. I pray that God may enable me to talk to Him someday soon.

So, as the thoughts of this boy are flooding my mind, I start thinking of my hood. That boy is like a small bro to me cause we’ve basically grown up together and so is the case with the rest of my hoodies. We truly love each other, are always there there for each other in good times and in the bad, we spend ourselves for each other. Then it got me into thinking, wait, isn’t this how Christianity should be?

Most of the times, we Christians tend to forget that we come from the same hood. We draw ourselves in clusters and cliques that are thick to cut, we cause divisions amongst ourselves based on worldly views forgetting that we are a family. Acts 17:28 says we are the offspring of God.  We are in this world yet not of this world,that shows we are from the same hood. Rom 5:15 enhances it by saying we have been given the Spirit of sonship (adoption) and God is our father. God actually predestined  us to be adopted as His sons through Jesus Christ and that Christ may become the firstborn among many brothers. Why then is there no love in this hood? Why do we live as strangers with each other yet God clearly says in Ephe. 2:19 that we are no longer foreigners and aliens but fellow citizens with God’s people and members of his household. Why do we live in disunity like the non – believers yet our unity is what is meant to reach out to them, Jn. 17?

Like the Romans in  chapter 2:24, God’s name is being blasphemed among the Gentiles because of us.  Because we do not do that which we know we ought to do. Truth in love no longer exists. Rom 13:10 says love worketh no ill to his neighbour. Why are we breaking this command?  Why do we keep quiet when we see a brother falling or straying in the name of “I don’t have a relationship with them” or “I don’t want to stir up stuff?” In the name of keeping pretty and pleasing the masses? Yet God has already certified you to talk to them by the main fact that you are of the same hood, Christians. I don’t negate the place of relationships, there is but I think we are overstepping it in the way we use it nowadays. God calls us family. Which one of you will keep quiet when their biological brothers are about to fall in a pit? How much more then are we supposed to speak up when we see members of this heavenly family, which is more important and which is everlasting? If we are going to live, with the end in mind, then I think the Christians, as a family of God, are way above considering they will still be there even when it all ends.

Why do we have to hide behind the walls of “stop judging me.” Paul says it is not his duty to judge the world but the church. Judgement begins in the church. Why is it when I compliment you or commend you on something and I don’t know you, you hurriedly and warmingly receive the compliments, but when I speak up in love when I see you straying, you rudely retort that “I don’t know you?”  I find that to be a bit hypocritical, if that’s how you are going to act, then do so fully. Don’t receive the compliments either.  If your circle of friends, the people you have a relationship with are not seeing when you are straying or if they do but they prefer to keep mum on the issue, but me, a “stranger” I choose to spell it out to you in love, why is it so hard for you to exercise spiritual diligence and think, if this person has decided to risk and come talk to me there must be something, why don’t I gauge it with the word. The word is the standard, not us, not our opinions, the word.

Let me just give you a practical example, I wrote this article yesterday night and God made it practical today morning when I was going to work. I was in a matatu and these two women behind me were chatting. One was an embittered woman who had left her church and was now telling this other one about it. Truth be told, that journey was long, the whole matatu was quiet, we were just hearing her complaints about the church and pastor. I kept wishing that somehow God would make it possible for us to alight at the same stage so that I could talk to them, mostly the embittered one. God in His wisdom, let me alight with the one who was being told the story. So, I just stopped her, said hi, and asked her if she’s a Christian. She said yes, and I told her I couldn’t help but hear their conversation and it wasn’t right at all. So I explained to her why and she was grateful and appreciated and was of the same thought. I didn’t know that chic, but the fact that they were professing Christians, I couldn’t just walk out of that place without telling them the truth. That’s what hood love is all about. We are family.

Let’s practise some hood love people. Let’s be real, let’s be genuine with each other. This world is fleeting and an open rebuke is better than hidden love, so says God. The tongue that brings healing is a tree of life, but a deceitful tongue crushes the spirit, Prov. 15:4. Let us not lie to one another. Let us practise love in its fulness. We are members of the same hood, let’s not forget that, only ours is more is more stronger because we are united by one blood.

So anytime you are about to say, “you don’t know me, you can’t talk to me, remind yourself this, we are from the same hood.”  We are family, so either of us can talk to the other. Gal. 6:10 says, “therefore, as we have opportunity, let us do good to all people, ESPECIALLY to those who belong to the family of believers (hoodies :)) That’s the word of God take it or leave it.  Time for some hood love.

 

Grace and Peace.

 

Comments
  1. Lol! I don’t mind love in kind 🙂

  2. disciple254 says:

    & now the collection plate is passed for the offering 😁😁😁

Leave a Reply

