THE PLACE OF UNCERTAINTY (The Psalmist View)

Posted: February 17, 2012 in Thoughts of a Broken Vessel

I know not what tomorrow holds, I know not how the day will end

My afflictions are ever before me and they have weighed me down

My oppressors are upon me and wickedness seems to travail

I have become frail from the turmoil that rages within my soul

My body is worn out and the grave is so near me

My mind has stopped functioning and I can only hear echoes of people gloating over me

The people who were close to me, the ones I regarded as brothers, have left

I am all alone and in pain with no one to turn to

Like Habakkuk, I cry out, ‘How long, how long, before you listen to me

My foes have become my master and my enemies are at ease

Bitterly I weep at night tears are upon my cheeks

No one is near to comfort me, no one to restore my spirit

Like an enemy you have strung your bow and your right hand is ready

My eyes fail from weeping I am in torment within and my heart is poured out

Like Jeremiah, I say, I have seen affliction by the rod of your wrath

Then suddenly, I am reminded of your love

I am reminded how it is because of your love that I am not consumed, your mercies never fail

I say you are my portion and I will wait for you

I am reminded that you do not cast off men for ever, though you bring grief, you will yet show compassion

For who can speak and have it happen unless you have decreed it

I trust in you Oh Lord for my times are in your hands

Your plans stand firm forever and all things will work for my good because I have been called to your purpose

Whom have I in heaven but you, my flesh and heart may fail but you are my strength and my portion

Though you’ve made me see troubles many and bitter, you will yet restore my life again

Be at rest Oh my soul for the Lord has been good to you, For your word is a lamp unto my feet and a light unto my path

My soul waits for the Lord and in His word I put my hope, For he has exalted above all things, His Word and His Name

I rejoice Oh Lord because all the days ordained for me were written in your book

Like Jeremiah, you knew me before you even formed me, How comforting that is to my soul

I rejoice because you are faithful to all your promises and loving towards all you have made

You uphold all those who fall and lift up all who are bowed down

Therefore, I will say like the Psalmist,

It is good for me that I have been afflicted for it has brought me closer to you

And a broken and contrite heart Oh Lord you do not despise

Truly, Godly sorrow leads to repentance

And so, I will wait for you, I will wait for you

My lament will lead to praise.

Grace and Peace

Comments
  1. I am in a place of uncertainty and God blessed me with this, I hope it will encourage you too as you read it. Let your lament lead to praise.

    • Givonni says:

      Thank you Sis for sharing this encouraging word. Keep on praising God and lifting him up. For he is our refuge and fortress… He shall cover thee with his feathers, and under his wings shalt thou trust: his truth shall be thy shield and buckler. Psalm 91:2,4.

Leave a Reply

